Get your free website from Spanglefish
Visit community-council.org.uk for modern, accessible and reasonably priced Community Council websites.
25 February 2021
Consultation on merger plans for Community Councils in the Bonnyrigg area

Bonnyrigg and Lasswade Community Council and Poltonhall and Hopefield Community Council have voted to progress to a merger to bring the two community councils together.

A 90-day consultation has begun, with residents having until Friday 19 May to submit any written representations.

'The community councils within the Bonnyrigg ward are comprised of people who care about their community and want to make it a better place to live,' explained the chairpersons of both community councils, Jan Irvine and John Aitchison. 'Both the Poltonhall and Hopefield Community Council and the Bonnyrigg and Lasswade Community Council believe that we can do this better for the people of Bonnyrigg and the surrounding area by merging into one stronger community council.

'Our aim is to reduce confusion over which community council represents the town's residents, give local people and groups one place to attend, and produce a more unified voice within the whole of the Bonnyrigg area. It will also help us create a single resilience coordination in times of difficulty and provide stronger representation to Midlothian Council and other statutory bodies.'

For details of the proposal and how to get involved, visit https://www.midlothian.gov.uk/info/200284/your_community/534/community_councils/3

Community councils are the most local tier of statutory representation in Scotland. They bridge the gap between local authorities and communities and help to make public bodies aware of the opinions and needs of the areas they represent.

There are 16 active community councils covering the Midlothian area and all continue to meet online. As well as being consulted on planning applications, they play a substantial role in the community response to coronavirus.

If you’d like to know more about the work of your community council, visit www.midlothian.gov.uk/yourcommunity.

Bonnyrigg and Lasswade Community Council

Poltonhall and Hopefield Community Council

Click for Map
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement